National Latine Playwrights Award

Submissions for the National Latine Playwrights Award (NLPA) are closed at this time.

Latine playwrights residing in the United States, its territories or Mexico are encouraged to submit scripts for the award. Each script will be read and evaluated by a culturally diverse panel of theatre artists; finalists will be judged by ATC artistic staff.

Established in 1995, the National Latine Playwrights Award is unique in both its longevity and prescience. Previous recipients include Kristoffer Diaz (Pulitzer Prize Finalist), Marisela Treviño Orta (Pen Center USA Literary Award recipient), Caridad Svich (2012 Obie Award winner), Carlos Murillo (National Playwright Residency Program Mellon Foundation), Octavio Solis (NEA Fellowship), Karen Zacarías (Helen Hayes Award recipient) and Luis Alfaro (MacArthur Fellowship or “genius” grant recipient). Of the past 26 recipients, only two have not yet gone on to productions across the United States and around the world. ATC’s long history of recognizing Latine voices is echoed in its embrace of new work that does not neatly comport to genre, form, or subject. 

Arizona Artists Initiative

The Arizona Artists Initiative identifies those artists that contribute to an ATC production, from our staff that live in Arizona to create the productions you see, to the artists that help create readings and other productions – Arizonans take a leading role in everything we do.