Support NLPA

What is the Award?

Established in 1995, Arizona Theatre Company’s National Latine Playwrights Award (NLPA) is unique in its longevity and prescience. Under the leadership of ATC Playwright-in-Residence Elaine Romero, the award continues to create a greater awareness of under-represented Latine writers’ stories. It has honored many outstanding works by Latine playwrights who have achieved remarkable success throughout the country. Now after nearly 30 years, we are happy to announce that in addition to the cash prize, the winner will receive a public reading in an annual festival.

Why This Matters?

The NLPA provides a platform for Latine playwrights who struggle to obtain funding and recognition for their work, especially in theater. Latine stories are systemically underrepresented on U.S. stages despite the robust artistic production by Latine writers. ATC recognizes the importance of sustaining and advancing this program to ensure that the voices and viewpoints of Latine artists are acknowledged and heard.

As we celebrate nearly 30 years of honoring exceptional talent, we invite you to join us in supporting this vital initiative. Help us to sustain the award and advocate for increased diversity in theatre. Together, we can ensure that the rich and diverse stories of Latine playwrights are given the spotlight they deserve.

Past Winners

24 of the 26 recipients of the award have gone on to be produced across the United States and around the world. Notable winners of the National Latine Playwrights Award include Luis Alfaro, Karen Zacarías, Kristoffer Diaz, Octavio Solis, and Charise Castro Smith, co-writer of Disney hit Encanto (Golden Globe, Winner, Best Motion Picture, Animated), and more.